The Distinguished Educator Award - Call for Nominations

The Distinguished Educator Award, established in August 2018, will be given annually to a member for outstanding pedagogical contributions to computer graphics and interactive techniques at any educational level or within the context of any discipline. The award recognizes contributions in both innovative content and delivery.

The award will be presented annually during the award ceremony at either the North American SIGGRAPH conference or the SIGGRAPH Asia Conference (the choice of the recipient).

Nominations for the Distinguished Educator Award may be submitted by contacting the Educator Award Chair before 31 January each year.

Contributions being considered are broad and include:

  • Computer graphics and interactive techniques
  • Use of novel computer graphics in education
  • Curriculum and delivery
  • Student engagement
  • Classroom teaching techniques
  • Online courses
  • Textbooks and demos
  • Use of online content, such as blogs, videos or webinars

Award criteria:

  • Impact on research and practice of education as it relates to computer graphics and interactive techniques
  • Cumulative contributions to the field both directly and through leadership of others
  • Innovation in education
  • Influence on the work of others, and acceptance of educational techniques by the ACM SIGGRAPH community; educators who are making a difference as innovators or pioneers in their respective disciplines
  • Active in the ACM SIGGRAPH community

The awardee will be selected by a committee via nominations. Members of the SIGGRAPH community will be solicited for nominations. The deadline for nominations will be January 31. Self-nominations are allowed. Nominations may also arise from an archive of past nominations maintained by the awards chair and culled yearly by the committee.

Nominations must include:

  • A one-page summary explaining how the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • Names and contact information of at least two people who are knowledgeable about the qualifications of the nominee and will submit letters in support of the nomination

The recipient of the award will be chosen by an award committee. The committee will have a chairperson and five committee members. The committee will meet on a regular basis as warranted starting in January to discuss potential candidates, choosing a recipient by the end of March.

Distinguished Educator Award Committee

  • Erik Brunvand, Chair
  • Mike Bailey
  • Glenn Goldman
  • Gitta Domik-Kienegger
  • Peter Shirley
  • Rejane Spitz